Top Ten Tips for E-Discovery

Yesterday morning I spoke on a webinar for The Masters Conference called “Top 10 Tips for Working with E-Discovery” in which I shared the 10 tips I give to clients at our first meeting.  The idea is give a better understanding of e-discovery and basic obligations under the current state and federal rules.  Hopefully this begins my consultative engagement with the first step towards best practices e-discovery and a better discovery strategy.

My top ten tips are:

1. Read The Rules

2. Read The Decisions

3. Know The Terms

4. Know Where The Data Is

5. Talk To The IT Staff

6. Talk To The RM Staff

7. Help Clients With RM Policy

8. Develop A Litigation Hold Strategy

9. Enforce The Litigation Hold Strategy

10. Talk With Your Clients

You can hear a recording of the prsentation by going to the Masters Conference webinar page to  and don’t forget to stop by the Masters Conference itself, Oct. 13th and 14th at the Ronald Reagan Building in Washington, D.C.. I’ll be there as will Chuck Kellner and all the Anacomp folks, who will be happy to answer your questions about e-discovery and how best to handle the challenges you are facing.

2 comments so far

  1. […] Top Ten Tips for E-Discovery « docNative Paradigm Blog docnativeblog.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/top-ten-tips-for-e-discovery – view page – cached Yesterday morning I spoke on a webinar for The Masters Conference called “Top 10 Tips for Working with E-Discovery” in which I shared the 10 tips I give to clients at our first meeting. The… (Read more)Yesterday morning I spoke on a webinar for The Masters Conference called “Top 10 Tips for Working with E-Discovery” in which I shared the 10 tips I give to clients at our first meeting. The idea is give a better understanding of e-discovery and basic obligations under the current state and federal rules. Hopefully this begins my consultative engagement with the first step towards best practices e-discovery and a better discovery (Read less) — From the page […]

  2. […] the Law Technology News website (the second article on that page) and were the subject of Tom’s Masters Conference webcast. One which caught my eye was Point 5 which […]


Leave a Reply

