IT Reading List for Attorneys

Craig Ball made a great point in responding to my post about educating lawyers when he said  “We not only need to persuade lawyers to take the plunge, we need to insure there’s a pool for them to jump into. By that I mean, there just isn’t a clear path to accessible resources for the lawyer who wants to get a handle on the technology. Do they go to a community night course on computers? Pursue online education? Wait for the next Georgetown Academy?  I don’t think I’ve even seen a really good reading list on the topic (and much as I’d like for it to be, consuming the offerings on my web site isn’t enough). “

So how about it folks.  What are the books (or other resources) that you recommend for attorneys trying to get tech literate?  Send me your recommendations and I’ll post them here.

1 comment so far

  1. Paul D. Bain on

    Tom,

    First, thanks for writing this blog.

    Second, although I appreciate your writings, they befuddle me nevertheless. I find some of the information and advice in this blog a bit mystifying. The assumption that underpins some of your posts is that there is a huge demand for lawyers who understand information technology (IT), but my experience belies this assumption. I am a lawyer as well as an IT professional, and most employers will not even return my phone calls or emails. Heck, I have NEVER met a lawyer who knows more about IT than I, but neither the EDD vendors nor the law firms nor the headhunters will return my emails. On those few occasions when I have been able to talk to a prospective employer or headhunter, the reason that they give for not being interested in my resume is that I do not know specific legal software or specific EDD software or specific forensics software. In other words, employers are NOT looking for knowledge of IT generally, but *highly specific* skills that can be learned by anyone who is proficient in IT generally.

    My experience is that there is almost no demand for the “nerd lawyer” unless he knows, for example: (a) legal software such as the following: Concordance, Summation, IPRO, iConect, LiveNote, CaseMap, Sanction, Trial Director, etc., OR

    (b) the software that is used in digital forensic examinations, e.g., Encase, Paraben, The Sleuth Kit, etc.

    Sincerely,
    Paul Bain

    paulbain@pobox.com
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/paulbain
    (703) 876-4778


Leave a Reply

